Enter the secure New College Portal to:

  • Apply to live at New College or NCV
  • Renew your New College or NCV Membership
  • Depart College & Request a Bond Refund
  • Register for an Event
  • Make a Donation to the College
  • Update Your Details

Continue to the Secure New College Portal

You are here:   New College Village »  Media & Events »  News »  Awards »  A Special Commencement Dinner For Ncv

A Special Commencement Dinner for NCV

March 06, 2019
Posted by: Ash Braithwaite

On Wednesday February 27th NCV residents and special guests dressed up for the annual Commencement Formal Dinner held at New College. The main address was delivered by former NCV Dean, Dr John Quinn, who encouraged residents to listen to different voices and read from a wide range of views in order to establish a healthy and well-founded position in multiple areas of life.


Dr Quinn (NCV Dean 2010-14) is presently an Australian Research Council Future Fellow in the Drug Delivery, Disposition and Dynamics Theme at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences.  Prior to his role as Dean of New College Postgraduate Village, he was a Technical Assistant at Phillips Ormonde Fitzpatrick Patent and Trade Mark Attorneys.


An exquisite menu and a beautiful musical item, Rachmaninoff’s “Prelude Opus 23 Number 4” performed on piano by Kiana Chan, helped create an air of class and anticipation as Academic Awards from 2018 were also celebrated. The Master, Bill Peirson, acknowledged the Academic Prize winners for 2018, as well as NCV Academic Prize recipients and University Medalists, such as dual University Medalist and Senior Resident Jonathan Hopkins. A full list of Prize winners and Medalists can be seen below. A big congratulations to all recipients and the NCV Research Community for continuing to foster and support academic success.


Not only were all three of NCV’s Dean’s from it’s 10 years present, as well as NCV’s Founder, Professor Trevor Cairney, but a very heartfelt and memorable vote of thanks was given at the end of the night by long-term resident Dr Sameera Durrani. In addition to thanking Dr Quinn for his address, Dr Durrani thanked the NCV community, and expressed particular gratitude to support staff by name for making NCV a wonderful place to live. NCV residents and staff were most encouraged to hear how their kindness, dedication and work in the community is valued. This year’s Commencement Dinner was a special night indeed.



Academic Prizes


Vijay Prakash The Faculty of Law Dean's List
Timothy Pilkington The Faculty of Law Dean's List
Sharleen Salazar The Faculty of Built Environment Postgraduate Dean's List
Ghaida Aljuhani The Outstanding Year 1 Student Prize
Ali Alnasser The Natural Gas Engineering Award
Abdulrahman Alyousef The Faculty of Built Environment Dean's List
Ella Bricknell The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Dean's List
Jonathan Hopkins The IChemE Prize
The Harold Tindale Award - 2
The Faculty of Engineering Dean's Award
The Perfect Engineering Prize
Ash Khoo The Maurice (Toby) Arnold Anatomy Prize



Wenxing Guo Banking and Finance
Bo Wang Photovoltaic Engineering
Yuan-Chih Chang Photovoltaic Engineering
Naoko Mochizuki Education
Jie Chen Planning and Urban Development
Kaiwei Wang Accounting
Milad Momayyezan Electrical Engineering
Rawi Roongruangsee Marketing
Kaavya Sriskandaraja Electrical Engineering

Next >